WV DUI Safety and Treatment Program Requirements
The West Virginia Driving Under the Influence Program is established per
West Virginia Code §17C-5A-3. West Virginia Code of State rules 64 CSR 98
establishes the guidelines for clinical assessment of all DUI Safety
and Treatment program participants. The West Virginia Department of
Health and Human Resources Bureau for Behavioral Health and Health
Facilities Program Standards sets forth the specific clinical standards
for the West Virginia Safety and Treatment Program.
West Virginia law stipulates that individuals, found to have been operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated-- either by failing a sobriety test of refusing to test, must complete a mandated comprehensive safety and treatment program.
Information for Non-WV Residents
The State of West Virginia requires that you complete a substance abuse evaluation and 18 hours of driver under the influence education. If you are not a resident of West Virginia, but were charged with operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated in the state of West Virginia, you may complete your driver under the influence education course and evaluation outside of West Virginia. For help in locating an educational course or a substance abuse evaluator, contact our office at 1-877-215-2522 during normal business hours.
Upon completion of the driver under the influence education course, you will need to complete and return the Out-Of-State Education and Treatment Verification Form along with:
A notarized Residency Statement must also be completed to provide proof of residency in a state other than West Virginia.
- A certificate of completion from the educational course
- A copy of the completed substance abuse evaluation. The evaluation must clearly state the date of the evaluation, the evaluator's recommendation, the name of the evaluator, and the agency's name and location/telephone number. If the substance abuse evaluation recommended treatment, documentation to show that the treatment was successfully completed must also be submitted.
There is a $125.00 administrative fee for submitting education from outside West Virginia. You may pay with a cashier's check or money order. Please make all funds payable to BBHHF- DADA- DUI Unit. No cash, personal checks, or credit/debit card payments will be accepted.
You may fax your documentation to 1-304-558-3275 (Attention: BBHHF DUI Unit), scan and email to: WVDUI@wv.gov or send through postal mail to:
West Virginia DUI Unit
Bureau for Behavioral Health and Health Facilities
350 Capitol Street, Suite 350
Charleston, WV 25301
**Please note that all documentation pertaining to the above must be submitted in full prior to our offices review and subsequent action.
If you have more than one DUI offense you are considered a
multiple/habitual offender in the State of West Virginia, and are
advised to seek assessment and admission to a structured, clinically
based, substance abuse treatment program designed for multiple/habitual
DUI offenders. The intensity of services shall be based upon a clinical
assessment completed at the time of program admission by a substance
abuse professional using American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM)
Patient Placement Criteria. The successful completion of
multiple/habitual DUI offender programming is a step to secure
reinstatement of driving privileges administratively suspended as a
result of second offense DUI per Chapter 17C-5A-3 of WV State Code.