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1. The following charges are imposed on the categorically needy for services other than those provided under section 1905(a)(1) 
through (5) and (7) of the Act: 

Type of Charge 
Service Amount and Basis for Determination 

Deductible Coinsurance Copay 

Prescribed Drugs State's Payment Co-Pay 
X $10.00 or less $ .50 

$10.01 to $25 $ 1.00 

$25.01 to $50.00 $2.00 

$50.01 and above $ 3.00 

------- ---- -- --_ .. _-
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State: West Virginia 

B. The method used to collect cost sharing charges for categorically needy 
individuals: 

x 
D 

Providers are responsible for collecting the cost sharing charges from 

individuals. 

The agency reimburses providers the full Medicaid rate for services and 

collects the cost sharing charges from individuals. 

C. The basis for determining whether an individual is unable to pay the charge, and the 
means by which such an individual is identified to providers, is described below: 

No provider participating under this State Plan may deny care or services to an 
individual eligible for such care and services under the Plan because of such 
individual's inability to pay co-payment charges. This requirement does not 
extinguish the liability of the recipient receiving the services for payment of the co­
payment charge to the provider. 

Providers will, based on information available to them, make a determination of the 
recipient's ability to pay the co-payment. In the absence of knowledge or indications 
to the contrary, providers may accept the recipient's assertion that he/she is unable 
to pay the required co-payment. 

Reimbursement to the provider will be the allowable cost minus the co-payment 
amount. . 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURllY ACT 

State: West Virginia 

D. The procedures for implementing and enforcing the exclusions from cost sharing 
contained in 42 CFR 447.53(b) are described below: 

E. 

Providers are informed through Medicaid Program Instructions an dlor Regulations 
of the following co-payment exclusions: 

Prescriptions for recipients of emergency services 
Prescriptions for pregnant women 
Prescriptions for family planning services and supplies 
Prescriptions for inpatients in long term care facilities/hospitals 
Prescriptions for recipients under 18 years of age 
Prescriptions originating with the EPSDT program. 

No co-payment is collected by or deducted from the reimbursement to the provider 
when these conditions are met. 

Cumulative maximums on charges: 

X State policy does not provide for cumulative maximums. 

D Cumulative maximums have been established as described below: 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State: , West Virginia 

A. The following charges are imposed on t~e categorically needy for services other than those provided under section 1905(a)(1) through (5) 
and (7) of the Act: 

Type of Gharge 
Service Amount and Basis for Determination 

Deductible Coinsurance Co pay 

Non-emergency visit to hospital Co-Payment Amount 
emergency room-hospital charge X 

$ 3.00 

The co-payment is based on the average 
payment of $ 97.75 for the time period state 
fiscal year 2003. This average rate permits 
WV to impose a $3 co-payment on all visits 
pursuant to 42 CFR 447.54 and 55. 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State: West Virginia 

B. The method used to collect cost sharing charges for categorically needy 
individuals: 

•. Providers are responsible for collecting the cost sharing charges from 
individuals. 

L® The agency reimburses providers the full Medicaid rate for services and 
collects the cost sharing charges from individuals. 

C. The basis for determining whether an individual is unable to pay the ch'arge, and 
the means by which such an individual is identified to providers, is de~cribed 
beiow: 

No provider participating under this State Plan may deny care ?r services to an 
individual eligible for such care and services under the Plan because of such 
individual's inability to pay co-payment charges. ,This requirement does not 
extinguish the liability of the recipient receiving the services for payment of the 
co-payment charge to the provider. 

In the absence of knowledge or indications to the contrary, providers must 
accept the recipient's assertion that he/she is unable to pay the required co­
payment. 

Reimbursement to the provider will be the allowable cost minus the co-payment 
amount. 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State: West Virginia 

D. The procedures for implementing and enforcing the exclusions from cost sharing 
contained in 42 CFR 447 .53(b) are described below: 

Providers are informed through Medicaid Regulations of the following co-payment 
exclusions: 

Recipients of emergency services as defined in 42 CFR 447.53(b)(4) 
Pregnant women 
Family planning services and supplies 
Inpatients in long term care facilities/hospitals 
Recipients under 21 years of age 
Recipients who are receiving hospice care 

No co-payment is collected by or deducted from the reimbursement to the provider 
when these conditions are met. 

West Virginia Medicaid will provide notice to Medicaid recipients of the imposition 
of the. co-payment when approved and list those classes of individuals who are 
excluded. West Virginia Medicaid will update the Medicaid Guide which is provided 
to Medicaid applicants at the county offices. West Virginia Medicaid will revise the 
applicable provider manuals to reflect the co-payment and those classes of 
individuals who are excluded from co-payments. West Virginia's MMIS system will 
monitor the emergency room claims for those classes of individuals who are 
excluded from co-payments and bypass requirements for co-payments from 
excluded classes. West Virginia Medicaid will utilize a list of diagnosis codes which 
generally indicate the presence of an emergency. Claims for a diagnosis not on this 
list will pend and be subject to medical review with a provider appeal process for 
denials. 

E. Cumulative maximums on charges: 

• 
D 

State policy does not provide for cumulative maximums. 

Cumulative maximums have been established as described below: 
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