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OMB NO.: 0938-0193

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State: West Virginia
2. The following charges are imposed on the medically needy for services other than those provided under section 1905(2)(1) through
(5) and (7) of the Act™:
Type of Charge -
" Service ) Amount and Basis for Determination
’ Deductible Coinsurance  qnay
Prescribed Drugs . | State’s Payment Co-Pay
X $10.00 or less $ .50
$10.01 to $25 $1.00
$25.01 to $50.00 $2.00
$50.01 and above $3.00
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State; Wast Virginia

B. The method used to collect cost sharing charges for medically needy individuals:

X Providers are rasponsible for collecting the cost sharing charges from
individuals.

r—_] The agency reimburses providers the full Medicaid rate for services and
collects the cost sharing charges from individuals.

C. The basis for determining whether an individual is unable to pay the charge, and the
means by which such an individual is identified to providers, is described below:

No provider participating under this State Plan may deny care or services to an
individual eligible for such care and services under the Plan because of such
individual's inability to pay co-payment charges. This requirement does not
extinguish the liability of the recipient receiving the services for payment of the co-
payment charge to the provider.

Providers will, based on information available to them, make a determination of the -
recipient's ability to pay the co-payment. Inthe absence of knowledge orindications
to the contrary, providers may accept the recipient’s assertion that he/she is unable
to pay the required co-payment.

Reimbursement to the provider will be the allowable cost minus the co-payment
amount. ' ‘
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State: West Virginia
D. The procedures for implementing and enforcing the exclusions from cost sharing

contained in 42 CFR 447.53(b) are described below:

Providers are informed through Medicaid Program Instructions an d/or Regulations
of the following co-payment exclusions:

Prescriptions for recipients of emergency services
Prescriptions for pregnant women

Prescriptions for family planning services and supplies
Prescriptions for inpatients in long term care facilities/hospitais
Prescriptions for recipients under 18 years of age
Prescriptions originating with the EPSDT program.

No co-payment is collected by or deducted from the reimbursement to the provider
when these conditions are met.

E. Cumulative maximums on charges:

X State policy does not provide for cumulative maximums.

D Cumulative maximums have been established as described below;
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OMB NO.: 0938-0193

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State: West Virginia
A. The following charges are imposed on the medically needy for services other than those provided under section 1905(a)(1) through (5) and
(7) of the Act™ ' .
Type of Charge
Service Amount and Basis for Determination
Deductible Coinsurance  Copay
Non-emergency visit to the hospital Co-Payment Amount
emergency room-hospital charge X
$3.00

The co-payment is based on the average

payment of § 97.75 for the time periodfor

state fiscal year 2003. This average rate

permits WV to impose a $3 co-payment on

all visits pursuant to 42 CFR 447.54 and

55.

" . -
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State: West Virginia

B. The method used to collect cost sharing charges for medically needy
individuals: '
|

Providers are responsible for collecting the cost sharing charges from
individuals.

® The agency reimburses providers the full Medicaid rate for services and
collects the cost sharing charges from individuals.

C. The basis for determining whether an individual is unable to pay the charge, and
the means by which such an individual is identified to providers, is described
below:

No provider participating under this State Plan may deny care or services o an
individual eligible for such care and services under the Plan ?ecause of such
individual's inability to pay co-payment charges. This requirement does not
extinguish the liability of the recipient receiving the services for payment of the
co-payment charge to the provider.

In the absence of knowledge or indications to the contrary, providers must

accept the recipient’s assertion that he/she is unable to pay the required co-
payment.

Reimbursement to the provider will be the allowable cost minus the co-payment™ = = *~

amount. :
B ) . P e
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XiX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State: West Virginia
D. The procedures for implementing and enforcing the exclusions from cost sharing

contained in 42 CFR 447.53(b) are described below:

Providers are informed through Medicaid Regulations of the following co-payment
exclusions: '

Recipients of emergency services as defined in 42 CFR 447.53(b)(4)
Pregnant women

Family planning services and supplies

Inpatients in long term care facilities/hospitals

Recipients under 21 years of age.

Recipients of hospice services

West Virginia Medicaid will provide notice to Medicaid recipients of the imposition
of the co-payment when approved and list those classes of indiyiduals who are
excluded. West Virginia Medicaid will update the Medicaid Guide which is provided
to Medicaid applicants at the county offices. West Virginia Medicaid will revise the
applicable provider manuals to reflect the co-payment and those classes of
individuals who are excluded from co-payments. West Virginia's MMIS system will
monitor the emergency room claims for those classes of individuals who are
excluded from co-payments and bypass requirements for co-payments from
excluded classes. West Virginia Medicaid will utilize a list of diagnosis codes which
. generally indicate the presence of an emergency. Claims fora diagnosis noton this.
list will pend and be subject to medical review with a provider appeal process for
denials. '

No co-payment is collected by or deducted from the reimbursement to the provider‘
when these conditions are met. :

E. Cumulative maximums on charges:
. State policy does not provide for cumulative maximums.

D Cumulative maximums have been established as described below:
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