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BACKGROUND 
 

A West Virginia Medicaid enrolled home health agency provides medically necessary and appropriate 
services such as skilled nursing (SN), home health aide (HHA), physical therapy (PT), speech therapy 
(ST), occupational therapy (OT), certain medically necessary supplies, other therapeutic services, and 
nutritional services to members that require nursing facility level of care on a part-time or intermittent  
basis. 
 

POLICY 
 

508.1 PROVIDER ENROLLMENT 
 

In order to participate in the WV Medicaid Program and receive payment from the Bureau for Medical 
Services (BMS), home health agencies must meet the following conditions in addition to requirements set 
forth in Chapter 300, Provider Participation Requirements: 
 

 Must have certification for participation in Title XVIII, Medicare, by the appropriate certifying 
agency in the State where the agency is located.  (In West Virginia, the Office of Health Facility 
Licensure and Certification (OHFLAC) in the Department of Health and Human Resources is the 
certifying agency.) 

 Must be approved for Medicare participation before requesting an application from Medicaid for 
enrollment as a provider.  The home health agency must send a copy of approval as a 
Medicare provider along with the rate of reimbursement set by Medicare for each service 
which has been approved by Medicare.  A change in the Medicare rate and/or services 
provided must be submitted on the Medicare letterhead to the Medicaid agency. 

 
Providers must ensure that all required documentation is maintained at the agency on behalf of the State 
of West Virginia and accessible for state and federal audits. 
 

508.2 HOME HEALTH STAFF FINGERPRINT-BASED BACKGROUND 
CHECK REQUIREMENTS, RESTRICTIONS AND MEDICAID EXCLUSION 
LIST 
 

At a minimum, a state level fingerprint-based background check, must be conducted by the West Virginia 
State Police initially and again every three years for all home health provider staff providing direct care 
services to members including direct-care personnel.  If a prospective or current employee has lived out 
of state within the last five years, an FBI fingerprint-based criminal history check must also be conducted 
and repeated every 3 years. 
 
Prior to providing home health services, required fingerprint-based checks must be initiated.  Home health 
providers may do a preliminary named-based check utilizing on-line internet companies and use these 
results until the fingerprint results are received.  An individual who is providing direct care services by a 
home health provider cannot be considered to provide services if ever convicted of: 
 

 Abduction 

http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/Pages/Manuals.aspx
http://ohflac.wv.gov/index.html
http://ohflac.wv.gov/index.html
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 Any violent felony crime including but not limited to rape, sexual assault, homicide, felonious 
physical assault or felonious battery 

 Child/adult abuse or neglect 

 Crimes which involve the exploitation, including financial exploitation, of a child or an 
incapacitated adult 

 Any type of felony battery 

 Felony arson 

 Felony or misdemeanor crime against a child or incapacitated adult which causes harm 

 Felony drug related offenses within the last 10 years 

 Felony Driving Under the Influence (DUI) within the last 10 years 

 Hate crimes 

 Kidnapping 

 Murder/ homicide 

 Neglect or abuse by a caregiver 

 Pornography crimes involving children or incapacitated adults including but not limited to, use of 
minors in filming sexually explicit conduct, distribution and exhibition of material depicting minors 
in sexually explicit conduct or sending, distributing, exhibiting, possessing, displaying or 
transporting material by a parent, legal representative or custodian, depicting a child engaged in 
sexually explicit conduct 

 Purchase or sale of a child 

 Sexual offenses including but not limited to incest, sexual abuse, or indecent exposure 

 Healthcare fraud 

 Felony forgery 
 
Fingerprint-based background check results, other than those listed above, which may place a member at 
risk of personal health and safety or have evidence of a history of Medicaid fraud or abuse must be 
considered by the licensed home health provider before placing an individual in a position to provide 
services to the member. 
 
If aware of a recent conviction or change in status of an agency staff member providing home health 
services, the home health provider must take appropriate action, including notification to the BMS Home 
Health Program Manager within 48 hour period of discovery. 
 
The Federal Office of Inspector General (OIG) Exclusion List must be checked for every agency 
employee who provides Medicaid services prior to employment and monthly thereafter.  Persons on the 
OIG Exclusion List cannot provide Medicaid services.  This list can be obtained at 
http://exclusions.oig.hhs.gov. 
 
A copy of the OIG Exclusion List check for each individual must be printed out and kept in a file for review 
by the BMS if requested. 
 
All payments for services provided by excluded providers or employees will be recovered by BMS. 
 
 
 
 

http://exclusions.oig.hhs.gov/
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508.3 MEMBER CERTIFICATION AND ELIGIBILITY 
 

Coverage for medically necessary and appropriate home health agency services is available on behalf 
of all West Virginia eligible Medicaid members subject to the conditions and limitations that apply to 
these services.  For more information regarding these requirements refer to 42 CFR §424.22. 
 

508.3.1 Face-to-Face Certification Requirements 
 

The physician responsible for performing the initial certification must document that a face-to-face 
encounter with the eligible member prior to ordering the provision of home health services has occurred 
no more than ninety (90) days prior to the home health start of care date or within thirty (30)days of the 
start of the home health care.  The date of the encounter must be included in the certification 
documentation.  For medical review purposes, documentation is required in the certifying physician’s 
medical records and/or the acute/post-acute care facility’s medical records (if the patient was directly 
admitted to home health) to be used as the basis for certification of patient eligibility. 
 
This face-to-face encounter must be conducted by the physician, an advanced practice registered nurse, 
or a physician assistant under the supervision of the physician.  A face-to-face encounter is required for 
certification any time a new start of care assessment is completed to initiate care for the home health 
services. 
 
The non-physician practitioner performing the face-to-face encounter must document the clinical findings 
of that face-to face patient encounter and communicate those findings to the certifying physician.  The 
documentation of the face-to-face encounter must be a separate and distinct section of the medical 
record and must be clearly titled, dated and signed by the certifying physician. 
 
Home health agencies must establish internal processes to comply with the face-to-face encounter 
requirement mandated by the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act for purposes of certification of 
a member's eligibility for Medicaid covered home health services. 
 
If a Home Health Agency claim is denied, the corresponding physician claim for certifying/re-certifying 
patient eligibility for Medicare-covered home health services is considered non-covered as well because 
there is no longer a corresponding claim for Medicare-covered home health services. 
 

508.3.2 Member Eligibility 
 

The member must have a need for nursing facility level services including: a need for skilled nursing care 
on an intermittent basis, or physical therapy, or speech-language pathology services, or have a continued 
need for occupational therapy. 
 
The member may receive skilled nursing visits if only a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse can 
provide the service, as certified by a physician, thus allowing the member to be in the community rather 
than be institutionalized for nursing facility level of services. 
 
There are no age restrictions for members who are eligible to receive home health services. 
 
 

http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/retrieveECFR?gp=1&SID=23e343538c47318a3b95d75073e01aed&ty=HTML&h=L&r=PART&n=42y3.0.1.1.11#se42.3.424_122
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508.4 COVERED SERVICES AND GUIDELINES 
 

The West Virginia Medicaid Home Health Program does not follow the Medicare guideline definition for 
homebound status. 
 
All home health services that exceed 60 visits in a calendar year require prior authorization.  Please see 
Section 508.10, Prior Authorization for additional information. 
 
A lack of transportation does not justify the need for home health services.  Please refer to Chapter 524, 
Transportation of the BMS Provider Manual for information on how to obtain this service.  
 
BMS will pay for medically necessary and appropriate home health agency services provided to eligible 
Medicaid members by a Medicaid enrolled home health agency. 
 
Skilled nursing visits (SNV) must be provided for Medicaid eligible members who have a need for nursing 
facility level services if only a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse can provide the service.  
Documentation must clearly indicate the need for the service.  Examples of this type of SNV include but 
are not limited to:  IV infusions, central line dressing changes, and sterile dressing changes for wounds 
with the application of a prescribed medication. 
 
Infants discharged from a neonatal intensive care unit that need nursing facility level services may receive 
skilled nurse visits for observation and education for the caregivers as appropriate.  Documentation must 
clearly indicate the need for these visits.  This documentation must include the mental status of the 
caregiver.   
 
Home health services may be provided to members who need nursing facility level of care if the normal 
caregiver is unavailable to provide the care for a short period of time.  The home health visits must not 
duplicate services received from other sources. 
 
A member with a psychiatric disorder who needs nursing facility level services may be eligible for home 
health services because his/her illness is manifested in part by a refusal to leave his/her place of 
residence in the community, or cannot leave his/her place of residence unattended due to safety reasons, 
even if he/she has no physical limitations.  The home health services must be provided by a skilled 
psychiatric nurse.  The diagnosis and rationale for nursing facility level services must be made by a 
psychiatrist.  The following conditions may result in the member’s inability to leave their place of 
residence: 
 

 Agoraphobia, paranoia, or panic disorder; or 

 Disorders of thought processes wherein the severity of delusions, hallucinations, agitation and/or 
impairment of thoughts/cognition grossly affect the member’s judgment and decision making and 
therefore the member’s safety; or 

  Acute depression with severe vegetative symptoms. 
 
The skilled psychiatric nurse must provide all required services for the member with a psychiatric disorder.  
Many members, who require the services of a skilled psychiatric nurse, also require skilled nursing care 
related to a physical illness.  Therefore, the psychiatric nurse must also have medical and surgical 
nursing experience to ensure that all the member’s home care needs are met.  Counseling services may 

http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/Pages/Manuals.aspx
http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/Pages/Manuals.aspx
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be provided by a trained psychiatric nurse.  These services should not be duplicative, and 
concurrent counseling or psychotherapy services by multiple providers are not medically necessary.   
 
Skilled nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, and speech-language pathology home health 
services must be reasonable and necessary for the diagnosis and treatment of the illness or injury within 
the context of the member’s unique medical condition.  To determine if the services are reasonable and 
necessary, the following items will be considered by the UMC: 
 

 The diagnosis is never to be the sole factor in determining medical necessity. 

 The determination of medical necessity of the services must be based upon the member’s unique 
condition, whether it is acute, chronic, terminal, or expected to continue over a long period of 
time, and in some cases if the condition is stable. 

 The services are intermittent. 

 Documentation must be reasonable, support the establishment of medical necessity, and should 
clearly define the member’s unique circumstance that justifies provision of these services. 

 Documentation must be clear, specific, and measurable. 

 All professional licensed service orders and notes must be signed and dated. 
 
Any therapy services offered by the Home Health Agency directly or under arrangement are given by a 
qualified therapist or by a qualified therapy assistant under the supervision of a qualified therapist and in 
accordance with the plan of care.  The qualified therapist assists the physician in evaluating level of 
function, helps develop the POC (revising it as necessary), prepares clinical and progress notes, advises 
and consults with the family and other agency personnel, and participates in in-service programs  (In 
accordance with 42 CFR §484.32). 
 
It is the responsibility of the provider to maintain the plan of care (POC) form, (CMS-485 & CMS-486) or 
the agency’s POC form of their choosing, and OASIS assessments on file.  Home health agencies must 
have all required POC data elements in a readily identifiable location within the medical record.  Home 
health visits are subject to post-payment audit.   
 

508.4.1 Skilled Nursing Visit 
 

Revenue Code:  0551 
Service Unit:      Visit 
Service Limit:    60 visits per calendar year in any combination with PT, OT, ST, and HHA services 
 
Definition:  Skilled nursing components are the assessment, judgment, intervention, and evaluation of 
interventions by a licensed registered nurse (RN) or a licensed practical nurse (LPN) under the 
supervision of the RN, and in accordance with the plan of care (POC). 
 
Skilled nursing visits are covered when provided by a RN or LPN, here in after referred to as a skilled 
nurse.  An RN must complete the initial assessment visit and shall appropriately supervise the LPN 
within the scope of the West Virginia Board of Nursing rules and regulations.  
 
The initial assessment visit by an RN must be held either within 48 hours of referral or within 48 hours 
of the member’s discharge from a nursing facility, or on the physician-ordered start of care date. 
 

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/CFR-2011-title42-vol5/CFR-2011-title42-vol5-sec484-32/content-detail.html
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A RN must complete the comprehensive assessment that also incorporates the use of the current 
version of Outcome and Assessment Information Set (OASIS) items, using the language and 
groupings of the OASIS items, as specified by the Secretary of the US Department of Health and 
Human Services (In accordance with 42 CFR §484.55). 
 
The comprehensive assessment must be completed in a timely manner, consistent with the member’s 
immediate needs, but not later than 5 days after the start of care (In accordance with 42 CFR 
§484.55). 
 
Services must be medically necessary and reasonable for the diagnosis and treatment of the member’s 
illness or injury.  The services include: 
 

a) Observation, assessment, and evaluation of the member’s condition when only the specialized 
skill and training of a RN or LPN can determine the member’s medical status or changes in the 
member’s medical status 

b) Management and evaluation of the member’s POC to ensure that the care is achieving its 
purpose including possible modifications of treatment and/or initiation of additional medical 
procedures as identified by the RN. 

c) Teaching and training activities by a skilled nurse are covered when it is necessary to teach a 
member, family member or caregiver how to manage the treatment regimen and the skill being 
taught is reasonable and necessary to the treatment of the illness, injury or functional loss.  There 
is no requirement that the member, family member or other caregiver be taught to provide a 
service if the member, family member or caregiver cannot or chooses not to provide the care. 

 
When documentation indicates a reasonable potential for a complication or further acute episode, RN 
visits for observation and assessment will be covered for a maximum of three weeks from the start of 
care.  Visits may be covered longer if there remains a reasonable potential for such a complication or 
acute episode.  Documentation in the medical record must clearly indicate a change in the health status 
(e.g. atypical fluctuation of vital signs) for observation and assessment to continue as a skilled service. 
 
In all cases, documentation of the member’s mental status must clearly indicate why the member cannot 
be educated to provide the skilled care.  Additionally, if there are others in the household who might be 
able to provide care, documentation must indicate why these individuals cannot provide the care or are 
unwilling to do so. 
 

508.4.2 Home Health Aide Services 
 

Revenue Code:  0571 
Service Unit:      Visit 
Service Limit:    60 visits per calendar year in any combination with SN, PT, OT, and ST services 

Definition:  A person specially trained to assist sick, disabled, infirm, or frail persons at their place of 
residence in the community when no family member is fully able to assume this responsibility. 
 
The Home Health Agency must use employees who meet the personnel qualifications specified in 
accordance with 42 CFR §484.4, Home Health Aide and 42 CFR §484.36, Conditions of Participation: 
Home Health Aide Services.  

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/CFR-2011-title42-vol5/CFR-2011-title42-vol5-sec484-55/content-detail.html
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/CFR-2011-title42-vol5/CFR-2011-title42-vol5-sec484-55/content-detail.html
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/CFR-2011-title42-vol5/CFR-2011-title42-vol5-sec484-55/content-detail.html
http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?rgn=div5&node=42:5.0.1.1.3#se42.5.484_14
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/CFR-2012-title42-vol5/CFR-2012-title42-vol5-sec484-36/content-detail.html
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Home health aide services are ordered by the member’s attending physician and delivered according to a 
plan of care (POC) that is established by the RN, PT, OT, or ST, and authorized by the attending 
physician. 
 
The home health aide service is provided under the professional supervision of an RN or licensed 
therapist (PT/OT/ST) in accordance with the federal conditions of participation (42 CFR §484.36). 
 
Home health aide services help maintain a member’s health and facilitate treatment of the member’s 
illness or injury.  Typical tasks include: 
 

a) Assisting a member with activities of daily living (ADLs) such as bathing, caring for hair and teeth, 
eating, exercising, transferring, and elimination; 

b) Assisting a member in taking self-administered medications that do not require the skills of a 
licensed nurse to be provided safely and effectively; 

c) Assisting with home maintenance that is incidental to a member’s medical care needs, (e.g. light 
cleaning, preparing meals, taking out trash, and shopping for groceries); and, 

d) Performing simple delegated tasks such as taking a member’s temperature, pulse, respiration, 
and blood pressure; weighing the member; changing dressings that do not require the skills of a 
licensed nurse; and reporting changes in the member’s condition and needs to an appropriate 
health care professional, 

 
Home health aide training must follow standards listed in 42 CFR §484.36 with classroom and supervised 
practical training totaling at least 75 hours, with at least 16 hours devoted to supervised practical training.  
Then, the individual being trained must complete at least 16 hours of classroom training before beginning 
the supervised practical training. 
 

508.4.3 Speech-Language Pathology Therapy Services 
 

Revenue Code:  0441 
Service Unit:      Visit 
Service Limit:    60 visits per calendar year in any combination with SN, PT, OT, and HHA services 
 
Definition:  Speech Therapy services are furnished only by or under supervision of a WV licensed 
speech pathologist or audiologist to treat speech and language disorders that result in communication 
disabilities.  The services are also provided to treat swallowing disorders (dysphagia), regardless of the 
presence of a communication disability (In accordance with 42 CFR §484.32).  
 
Also see Chapter 530, Speech and Audiology Services 
 

508.4.4 Physical Therapy 
 

Revenue Code:  0421 
Service Unit:      Visit 
Service Limit:    60 visits per calendar year in any combination with SN, OT, ST, and HHA services 
 

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/CFR-2012-title42-vol5/CFR-2012-title42-vol5-sec484-36/content-detail.html
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/CFR-2012-title42-vol5/CFR-2012-title42-vol5-sec484-36/content-detail.html
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/CFR-2011-title42-vol5/CFR-2011-title42-vol5-sec484-32/content-detail.html
http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/Pages/Manuals.aspx
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Definition:  Physical Therapy services are covered when provided by a WV licensed physical therapist 
(PT) or a licensed physical therapy assistant (PTA) under the direction of a licensed PT.  These services 
help relieve pain; restore maximum body function; and prevent disability following disease, injury, or loss 
to a part of the body. 
 
Services furnished by a qualified physical therapy assistant may be furnished under the supervision of a 
qualified physical therapist.  A physical therapy assistant performs services planned, delegated, and 
supervised by the therapist, assists in preparing clinical notes and progress reports, and participates in 
education of the member and family, and in-service programs (In accordance with 42 CFR §484.32(a)). 
 
Also see Chapter 515, Occupational and Physical Therapy Services 
 

508.4.5 Occupational Therapy 
 

Revenue Code:  0431 
Service Unit:      Visit 
Service Limit:    60 visits per calendar year in any combination with SN, PT, ST, and HHA services 
 
Definition:  Occupational Therapy services are covered when provided by a WV licensed occupational 
therapist (OT) or by a licensed occupational therapy assistant under the direction and supervision of a 
licensed OT.  Services help improve and restore functions impaired by illness or injury.  When a 
member’s functions are permanently lost or reduced, occupational therapy helps improve the member’s 
ability to perform the tasks needed for independent living. 
 
Services furnished by a qualified occupational therapy assistant may be furnished under the supervision 
of a qualified occupational therapist.  A qualified occupational therapy assistant performs services 
planned, delegated, and supervised by the therapist, assists in preparing clinical notes and progress 
reports, and participates in education the member and family, and in in-service programs (In accordance 
with 42 CFR §484.32(a)). 
 
Also see Chapter 515, Occupational and Physical Therapy Services 
 

508.5 BILLING PROCEDURE  

 

All claims must be billed using the UB04 or the equivalent electronic format to the BMS Fiscal Agent.  
Only revenue codes are required to be submitted on claim form.  The BMS Fiscal Agent contact 
information can be found on the Home Health Services website.  
 

508.6 REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY 
 

Medicaid reimbursement of Medicare certified home health services shall be based on 90% of the 
Medicare established low-utilization payment adjustment (LUPA) per visit rate by discipline or the 
provider’s charge, whichever is less.  The calculated LUPA rates will include an applicable Core-Base 
Statistical Area (CBSA) wage index adjustment for the county in which the provider has its initially 
assigned physical location.  If services are rendered to members outside that initially assigned county, 
payments will be limited to the provider’s LUPA rates with no payment recognition for any difference 
between county wage indexes.  The LUPA rate will be adjusted in accordance with Medicare’s 

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/CFR-2011-title42-vol5/CFR-2011-title42-vol5-sec484-32/content-detail.html
http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/Pages/Manuals.aspx
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/CFR-2011-title42-vol5/CFR-2011-title42-vol5-sec484-32/content-detail.html
http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/Pages/Manuals.aspx
http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/Programs/HomeHealth/Pages/Program-Contact-Information.aspx
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scheduled adjustments.  LUPA per visit payment amounts are considered payment-in-full.  All private 
and governmental providers are reimbursed according to the same published fee schedule in accordance 
with the WV State Plan, Attachment 4.19 page 5, Home Health Services, 7a,b,and c. 
 

508.7 MEDICAL SUPPLIES 
 

For information or questions regarding home health covered medical supplies, refer to Chapter 506 
Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies (DMEPOS). 
 
Certain medical supplies are covered for home health when they are: 
 

a) Ordered by a physician, 
b) Documented in the member’s plan of care, 
c) Medically necessary as part of the member’s home health care, 
d) Reasonable for use in the home, and 
e) Listed on the comprehensive Covered Medical Supplies List found in Chapter 506, Durable 

Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies (DMEPOS) of the BMS Provider 
Manual.  Those supplies covered by Home Health are identified in Appendix 506A (Covered DME 
Supplies) in the column labeled Home Health. 

 
Medical supplies are separated into three categories: 
 

 Routine (non-billable): Supplies that are customarily used in small quantities during the usual 
course of most home visits.  They are usually included in the staff’s supplies and are not 
designated for a specific member.  These supplies, such as alcohol swabs or gloves, are included 
in the cost per visit of home health care services. 

 Non-Routine (billable):  Supplies that are needed to treat a member’s specific illness or injury in 
accordance with the physician’s plan of care.  The item must be directly identifiable to the 
member, the cost of the item can be identified and accumulated in a separate cost center, and 
the item is furnished at the direction of the member’s physician and is specifically identified in the 
plan of care, i.e., the item is needed to treat a member’s specific illness.  The home health 
agency must also follow a consistent charging practice for Medicaid and non-Medicaid members 
receiving the item. 

 Non-Covered:  Supplies that are not covered under the Medicare home health benefit.  Home 
health agencies cannot bill for these supplies and the cost of the supplies cannot be included as a 
part of the services provided.  Comfort and convenience items are non-covered as well as 
program exclusions such as over the counter medications; prescription drugs and biologicals (e.g. 
blood components). 

 
Home health agencies must use reasonable quantities of the least costly product which will adequately 
meet the needs of the member.  Limited amounts of medical supplies may be left with the member 
between visits where repeated applications are required and rendered by the member or other 
caregivers. 
 
 
 
 

http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/CMS/SMP/Documents/Searchable/S4/4.19.pdf
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http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/Pages/Manuals.aspx
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http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/Pages/Manuals.aspx
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508.8 SERVICE LIMITATIONS 
 

Service limitations governing the provision of all WV Medicaid services will apply pursuant to Chapter 
100, General Administration and Information, of the BMS Provider Manual.  In addition, the following 
limitations also apply to the requirements for payment of home health agency services described in this 
chapter. 
 

 Home health agency services are covered when provided by Medicare certified/Medicaid enrolled 
home health agencies.  Only Medicare approved services are reimbursable. 

 Services and supplies must be provided pursuant to a physician's written order which details the 
member-specific plan of care. 

 Home health aide services will not be covered unless the member requires skilled nursing 
services, physical therapy services, speech-language pathology services, or has a continued 
need for occupational therapy services.  Newborn home health care will not be covered unless 
there is a diagnosis and/or condition that require intermittent skilled nursing services. 

 

508.9 SERVICE EXCLUSIONS 
 

Home health agency services are covered when provided by Medicare certified/Medicaid enrolled home 
health agencies only for those services for which they have been approved with the following exception: 
WV Medicaid does not follow the Medicare criteria for “homebound” status.  Medicare requires a member 
to be homebound and Medicaid does not. 
 
In addition to the exclusions listed in to Chapter 100, General Administration and Information, of the BMS 
Provider Manual, the BMS will not pay for the following services as a home health benefit: 
 

 Services not directly related to the member’s diagnosis, symptoms, or medical history 

 Duplicative services provided to members receiving benefits through the Home and Community-
Based Aged/Disabled Waiver (ADW) Program 

 Duplicative services provided to members receiving benefits through the Home and Community-
Based Intellectual and/or Developmental Disabilities Waiver (IDDW) Program 

 Duplicative services provided to members receiving benefits through the Home and Community-
Based Personal Care Services (PCS) Program 

 Duplicative services provided to the members receiving benefits through the Home and 
Community-Based Traumatic Brain Injury Waiver (TBIW) Program 

 Duplicative services provided to members receiving benefits of the Hospice program 

 Services provided to members receiving duplicative services from a behavioral health or 
community provider 

 Custodial care 

 Telephone consultations 

 Missed appointments, including but not limited to, canceled appointments and appointments not 
kept 

 Time spent in preparation of reports 

 Experimental services or drugs 
 
 

http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/Pages/Manuals.aspx
http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/Pages/Manuals.aspx
http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/Pages/Manuals.aspx
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508.10 PRIOR AUTHORIZATION 
 

The initial 60 visits do not require prior authorization; however the home health provider must register the 
member’s initial 60 visits with the BMS UMC.  The member must meet the medical necessity 
requirements; including documentation of admitting diagnoses and verification of medical necessity.  The 
total 60 visits may include any combination of the following home health services: skilled nurse visits 
(SNV), physical therapy (PT), occupational therapy (OT), speech-language pathology (ST), and home 
health aide (HHA).  All visits provided will be subject to disallowance upon review if medical necessity 
requirements are not met. 
 
Home health agencies must obtain additional authorization from the BMS Utilization Management 
Contractor (UMC) for home health services that exceed the initial 60 visits.  There are no age restrictions 
for members who are eligible to receive home health services. 
 
Prior authorizations must be: 
 

1. Obtained by the supervising physician or non-physician practitioner; 
2. Individualized to meet the member’s specific needs; and 
3. Authorized by the BMS Utilization Management Contractor (UMC). 

 
Prior Authorization must be requested within ten (10) business days of the requested service start date 
for the authorization.  Services may be initiated prior to receipt of the initial authorization based on 
member need.  Appropriate documentation of diagnosis is required for the initial registration (first 60 
visits) in the calendar year.  Subsequent authorization junctures in the calendar year (if 60 visits are 
exceeded) require additional documentation of medical necessity to exceed initial limits. 
 

508.11 CARE PLAN OVERSIGHT (CPO) 
 

Care plan oversight (CPO) consists of physician supervision of members receiving home health or 
hospice care when the member requires complex or multidisciplinary care modalities with ongoing 
physician involvement. 
 
The BMS provides payment for one (1) CPO service per member per calendar month. 
 
CPO services are also not payable to physicians having a 5% or greater ownership interest in or a 
relationship with a home health agency or hospice provider that is directly providing services to Medicaid 
members. 
 
The physician who bills for CPO services must be the same physician who signed the home health or 
hospice plan of care. 
 

508.12 COORDINATION OF CARE AND PAYMENT LIMITS 
 

Home health agency providers must determine whether Medicaid eligible members referred for home 
health agency services are authorized to receive similar services under other Medicaid programs or 
benefits.  Home health agency providers must coordinate the provision of home health agency 
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services with other Medicaid service providers in order to avoid duplication of similar services and 
subsequent disallowance of payments. 

 
Requirements for coordination of care and payment limits for specific services are described in this 
section for the following benefits: 
 

 Hospice 

 Home and Community-Based Intellectual and/or Developmental Disabilities Waiver (IDDW) 
Program 

 Home and Community-Based Aged and Disabled Waiver (ADW) Program 

 Home and Community-Based Traumatic Brain Injury Waiver (TBIW) Program 

 Personal Care Services (PCS) Program 

 Children with Special Health Care Needs (CSHCN) 
 

508.13 HOSPICE 
 

Members who have elected to receive services through a hospice agency are not eligible to receive 
services through a home health agency.  Medical care and case management of members receiving 
hospice services are the responsibility of the hospice agency.  Home health agency services provided to 
hospice members must be coordinated by the hospice agency.  Documentation of the referral from the 
hospice physician must be maintained in the member’s records of both the hospice agency and the home 
health agency.  Please refer to Chapter 509, Hospice Services for additional information. 
 

508.14 INTELLECTUAL AND/OR DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES WAIVER 
(IDDW) 
 

Members who have been determined eligible for and are enrolled in the Home and Community-Based 
Intellectual and/or Developmental Disabilities Waiver (IDDW) Program may receive services from a 
home health agency that do not duplicate IDDW services.  An agreement between the IDDW 
coordination agency and the home health agency must be on record.  The need for home health agency 
services must be documented in the member’s Individual Program Plan (IPP).  Documentation of the 
referral from the members attending physician must be maintained in the member’s records of both 
the IDDW Program coordination agency and the home health agency.  Refer to Chapter 513, Intellectual 
and/or Developmental Disabilities Waiver Services for additional information. 
 

508.15 AGED AND DISABLED WAIVER (ADW) 
 

Members who have been determined eligible for and are enrolled in the Home and Community Based 
Aged and Disabled Waiver (ADW) Program may receive services from a home health agency that do not 
duplicate ADW services.  Home health agency services provided to the ADW member must be 
coordinated by the ADW case management agency, and in general may only include skilled nursing 
care or therapy services for post-hospitalization stays or acute episodes of chronic conditions.  The 
need for home health services must be documented in the member’s plan of care (POC).  
Documentation of the referral from the members attending physician must be maintained in the member’s 
records of both the ADW agency and the home health agency.  Please refer to Chapter 501, Aged and 
Disabled Waiver Services for additional information. 
  

http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/Pages/Manuals.aspx
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508.16 TRAUMATIC BRAIN INJURY WAIVER (TBIW) 
 

Members who have been determined eligible for and are enrolled in the Home and Community-Based 
Traumatic Brain Injury Waiver (TBIW) Program may receive services from a home health agency that do 
not duplicate TBIW services.  Home health agency services provided to the TBIW member must be 
coordinated by the TBIW case management agency, and in general may only include skilled nursing 
care or therapy services for post-hospitalization stays or acute episodes of chronic conditions.  The 
need for home health services must be documented in the member’s plan of care (POC).  
Documentation of the referral from the members attending physician must be maintained in the member’s 
records of both the TBIW agency and the home health agency.  Please refer to Chapter 512, Traumatic 
Brain Injury Waiver Services for additional information. 
 

508.17 PERSONAL CARE SERVICES (PCS) 
 

Members who are receiving personal care services (PCS) provided through behavioral health or 
community care programs may also receive home health agency services.  These services are limited to 
services which can only be performed by a skilled nurse and/or a licensed therapist (PT/OT/ST).  The 
home health agency must maintain documentation regarding the need for services as well as the plan of 
care (POC) for the member.  No payment shall be made to home health agencies for home health aide 
services provided to members who are also receiving personal care services.  Please refer to Chapter 
517, Personal Care Services for additional information. 
 

508.18 CHILDREN WITH SPECIAL HEALTH CARE NEEDS (CSHCN) 
 

Staff of the Children with Special Health Care Needs program shall authorize all care, including home 
health services, for children receiving specialized medical services under the auspices of the CSHCN 
program.  The CSHCN program evaluates requests for prior authorization of home services based on 
Medicaid policy requirements for such services, regardless of the child’s eligibility for the Medicaid 
program. 
 
Requests for prior authorization of home health services for CSHCN enrollees should be forwarded to the 
CSHCN program as follows: 
 

Children with Special Heath Care Needs 
350 Capitol Street, Room 427 

Charleston, West Virginia 25301 
 

508.19 MANAGED CARE ORGANIZATION (MCO) 
 

If the Medicaid member is enrolled in an MCO, coverage and prior authorization requirements of the 
health plan must be followed.  If the member is enrolled in the PAAS Program, authorization or a referral 
must be given by the member’s primary care physician (PCP).  Medicaid will not reimburse for services if 
the MCO denies payment because their requirements were not followed. 
 

508.20 PRIVATE DUTY NURSING (PDN)/EPSDT SERVICES 
 

Please refer to Chapter 532, Private Duty Nursing Services for additional information. 
 

http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/Pages/Manuals.aspx
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508.21 DOCUMENTATION REQUIREMENTS 
 
It is the responsibility of the provider to maintain the plan of care (POC) form, (CMS-485 & CMS-486) or 
the agency’s POC form of their choosing, and OASIS assessments on file.  Home health agencies must 
have all required plan of care data elements in a readily identifiable location within the medical record.  
Home health visits are subject to post-payment audit.   
 

508.22 HOW TO OBTAIN INFORMATION 
 

For additional information, please refer to the Home Health webpage on the BMS website. 
 
Program Contact Information: 
http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/Programs/HomeHealth/Pages/Program-Contact-Information.aspx 
 

GLOSSARY 
 

Definitions in Chapter 200, Definitions and Acronyms apply to all West Virginia Medicaid services, 
including those covered by this chapter.  Definitions in this glossary are specific to this chapter. 
 
Abuse:  The infliction or threat to inflict bodily injury on or the imprisonment of any child or incapacitated 
adult. 
 
Felony:  A serious criminal offense punishable by imprisonment in the penitentiary. 
 
Financial Exploitation:  Illegal or improper use of an elder's or incapacitated adult's resources.  Obvious 
examples of financial exploitation include cashing a person’s checks without authorization; forging a 
person’s signature; or misusing or stealing a person’s money or possessions.  Another example is 
deceiving a person into signing any contract, will, or other document. 
 
Legal Representative:  A personal representative with legal standing (as by power of attorney, medical 
power of attorney, guardian, etc.). 
 
Misdemeanor:  A less serious criminal offense than a felony which is punishable by a fine or 
imprisonment in jail. 
 
Neglect:  “The failure to provide the necessities of life to an incapacitated adult or child” or “the unlawful 
expenditure or willful dissipation of the funds or other assets owned or paid to or for the benefit of an 
incapacitated adult or child”(WV State Code §9-6-1).  Neglect would include the lack of or inadequate 
medical care by the service provider and inadequate supervision resulting in injury or harm to the 
incapacitated member.  Neglect also includes, but is not limited to: a pattern of failure to establish or carry 
out a member’s individualized program plan or treatment plan that results in negative outcome or places 
the member in serious jeopardy; a pattern of failure to provide adequate nutrition, clothing, or health care; 
failure to provide a safe environment resulting in negative outcome; and/or failure to maintain sufficient, 
appropriately trained staff resulting in negative outcome or serious jeopardy.  This may also include 
medication errors and dietary errors resulting in a need for treatment for the member. 
 

http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/Programs/HomeHealth/Pages/default.aspx
http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/Programs/HomeHealth/Pages/Program-Contact-Information.aspx
http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bms/Pages/Manuals.aspx
http://www.legis.state.wv.us/wvcode/ChapterEntire.cfm?chap=09&art=6


 
 
 
 

CHAPTER 508 HOME HEALTH 

 
BMS Provider Manual                                                                                                                                         Page  17 
Chapter 508 Home Health                                                                                                                    Revised 6/1/2015 
 
DISCLAIMER: This chapter does not address all the complexities of Medicaid policies and procedures, and must be 

supplemented with all State and Federal Laws and Regulations.  Contact BMS Fiscal Agent for coverage, prior 
authorization requirements, service limitations and other practitioner information. 

Sexual Abuse:  Any act toward an incapacitated adult or child in which an individual engages in, 
attempts to engage in, or knowingly procures another person to engage in such act, notwithstanding the 
fact that the incapacitated individual may have suffered no apparent physical injury as a result of such 
conduct, e.g. sexual intercourse/intrusion/contact; and any conduct whereby an individual displays his/her 
sex organs to an incapacitated adult or child for the purpose of gratifying the sexual desire of that 
individual, of the person making such display, or of the incapacitated adult, or child, or for the purpose of 
affronting or alarming the incapacitated adult.  
 
Sexual Exploitation:  When an individual, whether for financial gain or not, persuades, induces, entices, 
or coerces an incapacitated adult or child to display his/her sex organs for the sexual gratification of that 
individual or third person, or to display his/her sex organs under circumstances in which that individual 
knows such display is likely to be observed by others who would be affronted or alarmed. 
 
Skilled Nurse (SN):  A person who is professionally licensed by the State of West Virginia as a 
Registered Nurse (RN) or a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) 
 
Utilization Management Contractor (UMC):  The UMC is authorized to grant prior authorization for 
services provided to West Virginia Medicaid members.  The UMC utilizes nationally recognized medical 
appropriateness criteria established and approved by BMS for medical necessity reviews. 
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