West Virginia Immunization Requirements for New School Enterers

State law and rules’ require that all children entering school in West Virginia for the first time in grades K-12 must show proof of immunization against diphtheria,

pertussis, tetanus, polio, measles, mumps rubella, varicella and hepatitis B unless properly medically exempted
The West Virginia Bureau for Public Health recommends that vaccine doses administered 4 days or fewer before the

requirements as most commonly met.?
minimum interval or age should be considered valid.

Requirement

Provisional Enrollment

Additional Information

Vaccine

Before admission, four doses

After one dose,

Three doses only for children completing primary
series at age 7 years and older.

DTaP/DTP required. One dose must be student may be allowed up to 8 months to Children exempted from the pertussis component of
Td/Tdap after the 4" birthday. complete the series. DTaP vaccine should receive DT vaccine instead, or
if past 7" birthday, Td / Tdap vaccine, as applicable.
. Before admission, three doses After one dose . o L
Polio y If polio immunization series included both OPV and
(IPV) required. One dose must be student may be allowed up to 90 days to IPV, then a total of 4 doses are required.

after the 4" birthday.

complete the series.

Before admission, two doses
required. First dose must be
after the 1°! birthday.

Measles, Mumps
& Rubella (MMR)

After one dose,
student may be allowed up to 30 days to
complete the series.

Doses should be a minimum of 28 days apart.

Before admission, two doses

After one dose,
children less than 13 years of age may be
allowed up to 90 days to obtain 2" 4 dose;

Children less than 13 years of age must have a
minimum interval of 12 weeks between the 1% and
2" doses.

Children aged 13 years and older may receive the

Varicella required. First dose must be hild d 13 vears and older b 2" dose 28 days after the first dose.
after the 1% birthday. chriaren age y may be Immunity may also be demonstrated through the
allowed up to 30 days to obtain the 2" dose. ) . :
legal guardian’s written or verbal attestation of
varicella (chickenpox) disease.
Hepatitis B Before admission, three doses After one dose, Final dose is not valid if administered before 24

required. Last dose must be
after the age of 6 months.

student may be allowed up to 4 months to
complete the series.

weeks / 6 months of age.

The table below outlines immunization

' See WV Code §16-3-4 and 64CSR95 for further information.

2 Medical exemptions must be requested by a physician who has treated or examined the child and be reviewed and submitted to the Immunization Officer of the Bureau for Public Health.
Requests for exemptions must be based on current standards of immunization practice and include the following information: the vaccine(s) being exempted, the

specific medical reason for the exemption, whether the exemption is temporary or permanent, and, if temporary, when the exemption should be reevaluated. West Virginia State Law

does not allow for non-medical exemptions to immunization requirements.

3 Occasionally, based on product used or the age at which a child is being immunized, deviations from these requirements may be acceptable. Any deviation must be consistent with

applicable, age appropriate immunization schedules found at_http://www.cdc.gov and searching under “Immunization Schedules”. b
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